Associate researchers

David
LEYLE

Geographer

More information

PhD in development geography, specialised in the assessment and management of environmental and social risks, including involuntary resettlement of populations, and in the design and management of socio-economic observatories, David is a recognised expert in social and societal engineering. Over the past 20 years, he has participated in the development of information and evaluation systems for the CNRS (French National Institute for Scientific Research), various NGOs, mining companies, consulting firms and for the French Development Agency (AFD). Mainly in Africa, but also in the Maghreb, the Middle East and in Asia, he has developed deep experience regarding the management of intercultural and multi-partner projects, such as socio-economic baseline studies, or environmental and social impact assessments, among others. He has published in international scientific journals and communicates about his research in international conferences. In particular, he coordinated in 2012 the Atlas of Voluntary and Solidarity Commitments at international level.

Pascal
REY

Agronomist – Geographer

More information

Agro-economist and holder of a PhD in Development Geography, Pascal has over 15 years of experience in Africa, Asia and South America, gathered by working in community development and development research programmes with the French National Scientific Research Centre (CNRS), International funders and mining companies. He has developed an approach based on the understanding of local power relations in order to understand the methods of land management at micro-local scales. Pascal combines both field expertise and an up-to-date knowledge of leading issues in development policies. His work is regularly published in scientific journals and reviews, in particular on issues related to land rights, natural resource management, decision-making processes, justice conceptions and CSR in the extractive sector. He gives lectures at the Sorbonne University (Paris I) and the University of Djibouti on urban planning, research methodology and the extractive sector in Africa.

Marie
MAZALTO

Sociologist

More information

PhD in sociology at the University of Québec in Montréal (UQAM), in collaboration with Cirad, Marie has worked more than 10 years as a researcher on behalf of the Research Group on Mining Activities in Africa (GRAMA), based at UQAM, Canada. She has published several articles, book chapters and participated as a guest at international conferences on the themes of governance and reform of the African mining sectors. For more than 10 years, she has been an independent consultant. She has worked in the Central African Republic, DR Congo, Liberia, Sierra Leone, Guinea, on behalf of USAID and UNDP, as well as various consulting firms such as Insuco, TetraTech, PWC, etc. She has specialized in the realization of social impact assessment and the question of CSR issue in the mining sector.

Julien
REMY

Sociologist

More information

Holder of a PhD in political sociology (University of Paris-Ouest Nanterre La Défense), Julien has worked for more than 10 years as a researcher and consultant in the area of social cohesion in France and Africa. His experiences allowed him to strengthen his skills in the field of social risk assessment, regarding both public and private projects, in a diversity of contexts: Environmental and Social Management Frameworks (ESMF) and Gender Action Plans (GAP), post-conflict social impacts (Central African Republic), social impacts and insecurity perception in Sahel region (Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger), social risk assessment of mining projects (Burkina Faso, Mali). These different work experiences in the field also allowed him to develop sound expertise in decentralisation, as well as specific skills on the use of assessment tools for ESMF implementation.

Mathieu
FRIBAULT

Anthropologist-Ethnologist

More information

Socio-anthropologist and ethnologist (EHESS / CNRS), Mathieu has been working in West Africa for more than fifteen years, particularly in Guinea. His work falls within the field of techniques and conceptions of nature and Mathieu is particularly interested in socio-technical innovation processes and socio-cultural and environmental changes. He has evolved in different programs where he has been able to specialize in history and orality, and traditional forms of power and land tenure. His research interests currently concern heritage, particularly processes associating natural spaces with religious and ritual practices (PCI), the analysis of socio-environmental transitions, communication and awareness in transcultural contexts and social crises.

Luigi
ARNALDI DI BALME

Anthropologist

More information

Africanist anthropologist, trained at Geneva IUED, Luigi has specialized in the understanding of local principles of land tenure and natural resource management. His work experience has addressed infrastructure and pastoral areas management, as well as conservation projects. In recent years, his interests include mining related issues, at both industrial and artisanal scales.

Luigi spent 15 years working in West Africa, most of which in Burkina Faso. Former Research Director at Laboratoire Citoyennetés (Ouagadougou), he was research fellow at the IRD (UMR GRED) during the same period. He has conducted studies for international cooperation agencies, research institutes and private firms in Burkina Faso, Guinea, Senegal, Chad, Niger and Djibouti.

Cristiano
LANZANO

Anthropologist

More information

Cristiano is a social anthropologist. He has studied and worked as researcher and lecturer at the universities of Torino and Genova (Italy), and is currently Senior Researcher at the Nordic Africa Institute in Uppsala (Sweden). He has also worked as associate researcher for several development projects in Italy, for the Laboratoire Citoyennetés in Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso), and as a consultant for Insuco and for Altromercato (an Italian fair trade organisation).

He has conducted anthropological and ethnographic research on youth in urban contexts (Senegal), on gender relations and rural development (Burkina Faso, Senegal), and on natural resources management and protected areas (Burkina Faso). Since 2012, he has been deepening his studies regarding the mining sector, particularly regarding the (in)formal governance and the production in artisanal mining sites (Burkina Faso, Guinea).

Chercheurs associés

David
LEYLE

Géographe

Plus d'informations

Docteur en géographie du développement, spécialisé en évaluation et en gestion des risques environnementaux et sociaux, notamment les réinstallations involontaires de populations, et en conception et pilotage d’observatoires socio-économiques, David est un expert reconnu en ingénierie sociale et sociétale. Ces 20 dernières années, il a participé à l’élaboration de systèmes d’information et d’évaluation pour le CNRS (Institut national français de recherche scientifique), différentes ONG, des sociétés minières, des bureaux d’étude et pour l’Agence Française de Développement (AFD). Principalement en Afrique, mais aussi au Maghreb, au Proche-Orient et en Asie, il a acquis une expérience significative dans la gestion de projets interculturels et multipartenaires, notamment à travers des études socio-économiques de base et des évaluations d’impact environnemental et social. Il publie dans des revues scientifiques internationales et communique lors de conférences internationales sur ses travaux. Il a notamment coordonné l’Atlas des Engagements Volontaires et Solidaires à l’international en 2012.

Pascal
REY

Agronome – Géographe

Plus d'informations

Docteur en géographie du développement et ingénieur en agro-économie, Pascal possède plus de 15 années d’expérience en Afrique, Asie et Amérique du Sud acquises dans le cadre de programmes de développement communautaire et de recherche-développement avec le CNRS, des bailleurs internationaux et des compagnies privées. Il a développé une approche basée sur la compréhension des rapports de force locaux pour comprendre les modalités de gestion du territoire à des échelles micro-locales. Il associe une solide connaissance du terrain à une veille permanente autour des questions qui sont à la pointe de la réflexion sur les problématiques de développement. Il publie régulièrement dans des ouvrages et revues scientifiques, notamment sur les questions liées au foncier, à la gestion des ressources naturelles, aux processus décisionnaires, aux conceptions de la justice et à la RSE dans le secteur minier. Il donne des cours à l’Université de la Sorbonne (Paris I) et à l’Université de Djibouti sur l’urbanisme, la méthodologie de la recherche et le secteur extractif en Afrique.

Marie
MAZALTO

Sociologue

Plus d'informations

Docteur en sociologie de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM), en collaboration avec le Cirad, Marie a travaillé plus de 10 ans à titre de chercheur pour le compte du Groupe de Recherche sur les Activités Minières en Afrique (GRAMA), basé à l’UQAM, Canada. Elle a publié plusieurs articles, chapitres de livres et participé à titre d’invitée à des conférences internationales sur les thématiques de la gouvernance et de la réforme des secteurs miniers africains. Depuis plus de 10 ans, elle est consultante indépendante. Elle a travaillé en Centrafrique, RD Congo, Libéria, Sierra Leone et Guinée, pour le compte de l’USAID et du PNUD, ainsi que pour divers bureaux d’études tels que Insuco, TetraTech, PWC, etc. Elle s’est spécialisée dans la réalisation des études d’impact social et la problématique de la RSE dans le secteur minier.

Julien
REMY

Sociologue

Plus d'informations

Docteur en sociologie politique (Université Paris-Ouest Nanterre La Défense), Julien est depuis plus de 10 ans chercheur et consultant dans le domaine de la cohésion sociale en France et en Afrique. Ses expériences lui ont permis de renforcer ses compétences dans le domaine de l’évaluation des risques sociaux, portés par des projets publics et privés, dans divers contextes : élaboration de Cadres de Gestion Environnementale et Sociale (CGES) et de Plans d’Action Genre (PAG), impacts sociaux post-conflit (République Centrafricaine), impacts sociaux et perceptions de l’insécurité en zone sahélienne (Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger), ou encore évaluation des risques sociaux des projets miniers (Burkina Faso, Mali). Ces travaux lui ont par la même occasion apporté une expérience significative dans le domaine de la décentralisation, ainsi que des compétences spécifiques sur l’utilisation des outils d’évaluation pour la réalisation de CGES.

Mathieu
FRIBAULT

Anthropologue – Ethnologue

Plus d'informations

Anthropologue social et ethnologue (EHESS/CNRS), Mathieu travaille en Afrique de l’Ouest depuis plus d’une quinzaine d’années, particulièrement en Guinée. Ses travaux s’inscrivent initialement dans le champ des techniques et des conceptions de la nature et s’intéressent spécialement aux processus d’innovation socio-techniques et aux changements socioculturels et environnementaux. Il a évolué dans différents programmes où il a pu se spécialiser sur l’histoire et l’oralité, les formes traditionnelles du pouvoir et du foncier. Ses objets de recherche concernent présentement les patrimonialisations, particulièrement les processus associant des espaces nature à des pratiques religieuses et rituelles (PCI), l’analyse des transitions socio-environnementales, la communication et la sensibilisation dans les contextes transculturels et de crises sociales.

Luigi
ARNALDI DI BALME

Anthropologue

Plus d'informations

Anthropologue africaniste formé à l’IUED de Genève, ses activités de recherche portent avant tout sur les principes locaux de la gestion foncière et de la gestion des ressources naturelles. Il a travaillé sur des projets de grandes infrastructures, d’aménagements pastoraux, de conservation. Depuis quelques années il s’intéresse de plus en plus aux enjeux de l’extraction minière, tant industrielle qu’artisanale.

Luigi a été basé en Afrique de l’Ouest pendant quinze ans, dont la plupart au Burkina Faso. Il a été chercheur au Laboratoire Citoyennetés de Ouagadougou de 2009 à 2015, et associé pendant la même période à l’IRD (UMR GRED). Il a réalisé des études pour des agences de coopération, des instituts de recherche, des sociétés privées au Burkina Faso, Guinée, Sénégal, Tchad, Niger, Djibouti.

Cristiano
LANZANO

Anthropologue

Plus d'informations

Cristiano est socio-anthropologue. Il s’est formé et a travaillé comme chercheur et enseignant aux Universités de Torino et Genova (Italie), et est actuellement chercheur au Nordic Africa Institute à Uppsala (Suède). Il a également pu travailler comme chercheur associé pour plusieurs projets de la coopération italienne et pour le Laboratoire Citoyennetés de Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso), ainsi qu’en tant que consultant pour Insuco et pour Altromercato (organisation italienne de commerce équitable).

Après avoir mené des recherches anthropologiques et ethnographiques sur les jeunes en contexte urbain (Sénégal), sur les relations de genre et le développement rural (Burkina Faso, Sénégal) et sur la gestion des ressources naturelles et des aires protégées (Burkina Faso), il s’intéresse depuis 2012 au secteur minier, et notamment à la gouvernance (in)formelle et l’organisation de la production dans les sites d’extraction minière artisanale (Burkina Faso, Guinée).